Idle Hands Are a Trichster’s Enemy

Image

 

It’s my personal experience that my hands being idle is a bad thing. So I’ve endeavoured to find a couple of things to keep my hands busy.

One of my new hobbies is my blog and the research I do for it. I have always been a major information gatherer and now I’m putting it to a use. I’ve often wished it was something I could do as a job actually, I’ve always been good at ferreting out information. Whenever my family or friends need something found, I generally find it for them.

My other major hobby right now is loom knitting. I would love to be able to knit with needles but I just can’t seem to get the movements down. So I pulled out my yarn and looms that I had put away a while ago and started looming headbands to cover my bald spots. I had some realizations while I was looming, here they are:

  • Looming keeps my hands busy which means they aren’t in my hair
  • I can loom and watch television at the same time which means that I am not pulling my hair while watching TV
  • Running the yarn through my fingers while looming, plucking the loops over the pegs… well it satisfies part of the compulsion I have to pull my hair. I’m pulling and plucking something that is smooth and hair like. 

I’m not a doctor. I’m not a psychiatrist, a nurse … I’m not a health professional so don’t DON’T take anything I say here as medical fact, these are merely my observations, my experiences and my suggestions. 

So my fellow trichsters … pick up a hobby. I of course am recommending looming because it satisfies something in me and I think it very well could satisfy something in other people. If you don’t want to make headbands, don’t worry there are patterns out there for just about everything. Blankets, sweaters, scarves, hats and purses. If you don’t want to make something for yourself? Make preemie hats. According to the research I’ve done many many hospitals are in need of warm, soft, tiny hats for the preemie babies in their NICU wards. 

How satisfying to knit up some hats for some tiny babies that need the extra protection for that part of their body that we so often abuse? I mean really that gives me a great deal of happiness to know that I am producing something to protect a tiny innocent little baby’s head. I’ll have to post up some pictures of the hats I’ve done so far. They honestly don’t take long and once you get going you could probably whip them out and get one done during an episode of Dr. Who or Grey’s Anatomy or whatever show you watch. 

Leave a Reply

